Mission Awards $224,500 in 2024-2025 Mission Scholarships

by | May 31, 2024 | News

A group of young people standing on the bow of a boat, they are looking up and smiling for the camera

The Mission is pleased to announce the 30 new Mission Scholarship award recipients from Hancock and Washington Counties. Representing nine high schools in the Mission’s service area, the newest Mission Scholars include:  

  • Lacey Bailey, Bucksport High School 
  • Leah Beal, Jonesport-Beals High School 
  • Asa Berry, Sumner Memorial High School 
  • Jessika Bridges, Sumner Memorial High School 
  • Matthew Carney, Sumner Memorial High School 
  • Jolie Deal, Mount Desert Island High School 
  • Riley Donahue, Mount Desert Island High School 
  • Ada Fisher, Sumner Memorial High School 
  • Owen Frank, Ellsworth High School  
  • Gabriel Hanscom, Narraguagus Jr/Sr High School  
  • Noah Hart, Calais High School 
  • Brady Hutchins, George Stevens Academy 
  • Chloe Look, Narraguagus Jr/Sr High School 
  • Thea McKechnie, George Stevens Academy 
  • Makenna Moore, Washington Academy  
  • Emma Moores , Narraguagus Jr/Sr High School 
  • Trinity Morris, Narraguagus Jr/Sr High School 
  • Autumn Peterson, Narraguagus Jr/Sr High School 
  • Elizabeth Pileski, Ellsworth High School  
  • Sig Reinholdt, Mount Desert Island High School 
  • Hazel Sheahan, George Stevens Academy 
  • Zoe Sikkel, Bucksport High School 
  • Emma Simard, Mount Desert Island High School 
  • Nyah Smith, Narraguagus Jr/Sr High School 
  • Mackenzie Urban, Jonesport-Beals High School 
  • Denali Wagstaff, Mount Desert Island High School 
  • Evan Weightman, Washington Academy  
  • Liberty White, Narraguagus Jr/Sr High School 
  • Coleton Whitney, Washington Academy  
  • Elle Yarborough, Mount Desert Island High School 

Your gift to the Maine Seacoast Mission makes you part of all we do.

This year’s Scholars plan to study biology, nursing, social work, psychology, and engineering among other areas. The post-secondary education and career landscape focus on many ways to achieve higher education and workforce readiness. These awards fulfill the intent of the Mission’s Scholarships’ annual support for individuals entering trade, technical, two and four-year colleges. 

These Mission Scholars join an existing 62 Scholars who renewed their applications for the coming academic year. For the 2024-2025 school year, $224,500 will be awarded to 92 college students. The program’s humble beginnings commenced in 1911. Since 2000, the Mission has awarded more than $2.6 million in scholarships to support the college and career aspirations of youth and adults in Washington and Hancock counties and outer islands.  

Scholars were chosen not only for their academic achievements, but also because of the students’ commitments to their communities, perseverance, and future aspirations. “This year’s Mission Scholars are a diverse group of students who are leaders in their communities and beyond,” says the Mission’s EdGE Secondary and Post-Secondary Program Director Christy Oliveri. “We are proud to help them achieve their educational and career goals and look forward to following their college journey over the next four years.” 

Mission Scholarships typically range in amount from $6,000 to $14,000 dispersed over four years, the period normally expected to complete a degree or certificate program. With approximately 30 new scholars each year, the Mission typically has nearly 100 active scholars in any given year. In 2023, 99% of Scholars continued their award and returned to school for an additional year of study. 72% of Scholars study at a campus in Maine, 46% at a University of Maine or a community college campus. 

This year’s new Scholars are enrolled at Husson University, University of Maine, Connecticut College, Rensselaer Polytechnic, Wentworth Institute of Technology, University of Minnesota, Dartmouth College, University of Southern Maine, Bowdoin College, Wheaton College, Southern Maine Community College, Alfred University, Bennington College, University of North Carolina, Endicott College, Smith College, New York University, Central Maine Community College, Villanova University, and Southern New Hampshire University. 

In addition to Mission Scholarships, Maine Seacoast Mission proudly partners with the Shelby Cullom Davis Charitable Fund to offer the transformative Davis Maine Scholarship. In its fourth year of supporting students, the Davis Maine Scholarship supports fully funded, four-year scholarships to select students each year. Davis Maine Scholars attend one of three partner schools, Clark University, University of New England, or Wheaton College.  

Accessibility Toolbar