Mission Awards $211,500 in 2023-2024 Scholarships 

by | Jun 28, 2023 | News

The Mission is pleased to announce 17 new scholarship award recipients from Hancock and Washington Counties. Representing 10 high schools in the Mission’s service area, the 2023 Mission Scholars are: 

  • Simeon Alley, Washington Academy, Washington County 
  • Ellie Anderson, Ellsworth High School, Hancock County 
  • Lydia DeSchiffart, Narraguagus High School, Washington County 
  • Emmalee Ripley, Narraguagus High School, Washington County 
  • Makayla Dorr, Narraguagus High School, Washington County 
  • Emily Fletcher, Machias High School, Washington County 
  • Matthew Haire, Narraguagus High School, Washington County 
  • Ayda Holyoke, Bucksport High School, Hancock County 
  • Anna Li, Calais High School, Washington County 
  • Caroline Mazgaj, Ellsworth High School, Hancock County 
  • Daniela Myers, Washington Academy, Washington County 
  • Madison Napoli, East Grand High School, Washington County 
  • Addison Nelson, Ellsworth High School, Hancock County 
  • Mercedes Owen, Calais High School, Washington County 
  • Braden Richard, Woodland High School, Washington County 
  • Madison Warnock, Jonesport-Beals High School, Washington County 
  • Taylor Wiberg, Deer Isle-Stonington High School, Hancock County 

These Mission Scholars join an existing 58 Scholars who renewed their applications for the coming academic year. For the 2023-2024 school year, $211,500 will be awarded to 75 college students. Since 2000, the Mission has awarded over $2.6 million in scholarships to support the college and career aspirations of youth in Washington and Hancock counties and select outer islands. 

This year’s recipients have diverse academic interests including mechanical engineering, civil engineering, large animal vet, biology, art, electrical certification, and business. The application review and interview process revealed Mission Scholarship candidates’ talent, dedication, academic achievement, and aspirations. 

“During the application process and in their everyday lives, Mission Scholars show an inspiring commitment to solving complex problems in their communities and around the world,” says Mission President John Zavodny. “We are excited to support their educational goals and watch them grow and change the world.” 

This year’s awardees are enrolled at Bates College, Carnegie Mellon University, Clark University, Husson University, Maine Maritime Academy, Smith College, Washington County Community College, University of New England, University of New Hampshire, University of Southern Maine, and University of Maine campuses at Machias, Presque Isle, and Orono. 

Mission offers committed, ongoing support and mentoring to Mission Scholars throughout their four-year college journey. These services help them achieve their goals and aspirations, which includes monthly check-ins and a peer-to-peer network. In addition, Mission Scholars are eligible to renew their scholarship for up to four years totaling $12,000. In 2022, 99% of Scholars renewed their award and returned to school for an additional year of study. 74% of Scholars attended a school in Maine while 50% attended a University of Maine or community college campus. 

In addition to the Mission Scholarships program, Maine Seacoast Mission proudly partners with the Shelby Cullom Davis Charitable Fund to offer the transformative Davis Maine Scholarship. In its third year of supporting students, the Davis Maine Scholarship supports fully funded, four-year scholarships to select students each year. Davis Maine Scholars attend one of three partner schools, Clark University, University of New England, or Wheaton College. In June, the new cohort of Davis Maine Scholars include Cadence Braughton of Calais High School , Riley Crowley of Sumner Memorial High School, Brisa Ortiz Garcia of Narraguagus Jr/Sr High School, MacKenzie Schors of Machias Memorial High School. 

Accessibility Toolbar